Hello, Guest.!

DHS Wins Slew of Gov. InfoSec Awards

1 min read

The Department of Homeland Security took home several awards at the 14th annual International Information System Security Certification Consortium, or (ISC.)² DHS staff dominated, reports CyberScoop, with its staff or former staff winning four of six government slots.

DHS won in the categories of community awareness, the “up and coming information security professional” category, and in the process/policy improvement category. Hemant Baidwan, Michael Rocha and Matt Shabat from DHS were honored, along with former DHS official Greg Touhill, who received the F. Lynn McNulty Tribute Award for his lifetime service. The Army also received awards in the technology improvement category and workforce improvement. Daniel Holmes and Barbara Smith received those awards.

The only nongovernmental award — “Most Valuable Industry Partner” — went to Parham Eftekhari and James Scott for their work founding the Institute for Critical Infrastructure Technology, the first cybersecurity think tank.

The awards and consortium helps to strengthen and reinforce the government’s “role in the big picture of national security,” Dan Waddell, head of U.S. government affairs for (ISC)², told CyberScoop.

The awards were bestowed by a panel of judges from (ISC)²’s government advisory council.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.