Hello, Guest.!

NTIA Names 12 States, Guam as $277M Broadband Infrastructure Program Awardees; Gina Raimondo Quoted

1 min read

The National Telecommunications and Information Administration has released more than $277 million in grants to deploy broadband infrastructure to over 133,000 unserved households in 12 states and one territory.

The grants are part of the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law that provides $65 billion to construct broadband facilities, produce low-cost internet service options and address digital equity and inclusion needs across the country, the Department of Commerce said Friday.

Gina Raimondo, Commerce secretary, noted that the Broadband Infrastructure Program awards will help provide households with internet for remote learning and telehealth services and domestic businesses with an opportunity to compete in the global market.

“We are eager to work closely with the grant recipients who will help us deploy broadband infrastructure to areas that have lacked it for too long,” shared Alan Davidson, assistant Commerce secretary for communications and information.

The grant awardees are:

  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Nevada
  • North Carolina
  • Pennsylvania
  • Texas
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Guam