Proposed Bill Would Give NASA Head 10-Year Term

1 min read

Six lawmakers have introduced legislation that would give the NASA administrator a 10-year term in office and change terms for members of NASA’s board of directors to three three-year terms.

The office of Rep. Frank Wolf (R-Va.), a co-sponsor of the Space Leadership Preservation Act, said that board would recommend three candidates for NASA administrator, deputy administrator and chief financial officer.

Nominees would face confirmation hearings in the Senate and the board, comprised of scientists and former astronauts, would be able to remove the NASA administrator for cause, Wolf’s office said.

Reps. John Culberson (R-Texas), Pete Olson (R-Texas), Bill Posey (R-Fla.), James Sensenbrenner (R-Wisc.) and Lamar Smith (R-Texas) are co-sponsors.

The bill also requires the board to prepare budget submissions for approval by the administrator, then submit that proposal concurrently to the White House and the House and Senate Appropriations Committees.

Over the past 20 years, Wolf’s office says NASA has spent $20 billion on programs that were cancelled.

ExecutiveGov Logo

Sign Up Now! Executive Gov provides you with Free Daily Updates and News Briefings about Civilian

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Become a Registered Reader
Register to enjoy unlimited access to articles, interviews, and invaluable govcon content. You'll also receive our daily briefing straight to your inbox.

This will close in 0 seconds