Congressional Armed Services Committee Leaders Unveil Afghanistan War Commission Members

1 min read

Reps. Adam Smith, D-Wash; and Mike Rogers, R-Ala.; with Sens. Jack Reed, D-R.I.; and Jim Inhofe, R-Okla., have announced their selections of members for the Afghanistan War Commission.

The Fiscal Year 2022 National Defense Authorization Act established the commission, which will comprehensively review how the U.S. military has made key decisions related to Afghanistan, the House Armed Services Committee said Friday.

The commission will assess actions from June 2001 to August 2021 to determine lessons learned and develop recommendations that inform future Congressional decisions. 

Members will create and submit a final report within three years of the commission’s initial meeting. The government will also disclose a public version of the report. 

The following will serve on the commission: 

  • Colin Jackson, chair of Naval War College’s Strategic and Operational Research Department
  • Jeremy Bash, formerly chief of staff for the Department of Defense
  • Michael Allen, formerly special assistant to President George W. Bush
  • Michael Lumpkin, president of Amida Technology Solutions
ExecutiveGov Logo

Sign Up Now! Executive Gov provides you with Free Daily Updates and News Briefings about General News