Hello, Guest.!

Space Force’s Organizational Structure Unveiled; Gen. Jay Raymond Quoted

2 mins read

The U.S. Space Force’s organizational structure finalized by the Department of the Air Force will be composed of three echelons: field commands, deltas and squadrons, the service reported Tuesday.

Space Systems Command (SSC), Space Operations Command (SpOC) and Space Training and Readiness Command (STARCOM) will serve as the military branch’s three field commands.

SSC will oversee the acquisition, development and deployment of space capabilities for warfighters and launch, on-orbit checkout, developmental testing and maintenance and sustainment of space systems.

SpOC will provide the space forces and capabilities for the joint force, combatant commanders and coalition partners. STARCOM will be responsible for educating and training space professionals and is expected to be officially established in 2021.

An interim space training and readiness delta will be set up in July at Peterson Air Force Base in Colorado to serve as the parent organization for operational test and evaluation and training units that will move to the new service branch by summer.

“This is an historic opportunity to launch the Space Force on the right trajectory to deliver the capabilities needed to ensure freedom of movement and deter aggression in, from and to space,” said Gen. Jay Raymond, chief of space operations at the Space Force and a 2020 Wash100 Award winner. “How we organize the Space Force will have a lasting impact on our ability to respond with speed and agility to emerging threats in support of the National Defense Strategy and Space Strategy.”

Squadrons will focus on specific tactics and operate within the deltas, which will be led by an O-6 and organized based on specific functions such as training, installation support and operations.