Easy access to all the Government news updates

Subscribe and receive personalized news articles straight in your inbox

*By clicking "Join us now" you agree to receive emails, promotions and general messages from ExecutiveGov. In addition, you also agree to ExecutiveGov's Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions.


President Biden Names 30 Science & Tech Leaders to PCAST

4 mins read
White House
White House

President Joe Biden has announced the 30 members of a new council that will develop and provide the White House with science and technology policy recommendations.

Eric Lander, director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, will co-chair the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) with Frances Arnold, a Nobel laureate and the Linus Pauling Professor of Chemical Engineering, Bioengineering and Biochemistry at the California Institute of Technology, and Maria Zuber, vice president for research and E. A. Griswold Professor of Geophysics at MIT, the White House said Wednesday.

Other PCAST members are:

  • Andrea Goldsmith, dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science and the Arthur LeGrand Doty Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Princeton University
  • Ashton Carter, former secretary of the Department of Defense and director of the Harvard Kennedy School’s Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs
  • Catherine Woteki, former chief scientist at the Department of Agriculture and Professor of Food Science and Human Nutrition at Iowa State University
  • Dan Arvizu, chancellor of the New Mexico State University System
  • Eric Horvitz, chief scientific officer at Microsoft
  • Frances Colon, senior director for international climate at the Center for American Progress
  • Inez Fung, a professor of atmospheric science at the University of California, Berkeley
  • Jennifer Richeson, the Philip R. Allen Professor of Psychology and director of the Social Perception and Communication Lab at Yale University
  • Joe Kiani, founder, chairman and CEO of Masimo
  • John Banovetz, executive vice president, chief technology officer and environmental responsibility at 3M
  • John Dabiri, Centennial Professor of Aeronautics and Mechanical Engineering at the California Institute of Technology
  • Jonathan Levin, the Philip H. Knight Professor and Dean of the Graduate School of Business at Stanford University
  • Kathryn Sullivan, former NASA astronaut and administrator of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • Laura Greene, chief scientist of the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory and the Marie Krafft Professor of Physics at Florida State University
  • Lisa Cooper, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Equity in Health and Healthcare at Johns Hopkins University
  • Lisa Su, president and CEO of Advanced Micro Devices
  • Marvin Adams, chair of the mission committee at Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Paula Hammond, head of MIT’s Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Penny Pritzker, chairman and founder of PSP Partners and chairman of the board of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
  • Phil Venables, chief information security officer at Google Cloud
  • Saul Perlmutter, a Nobel laureate in Physics and senior scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Steve Pacala, Frederick D. Petrie Professor in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at Princeton University
  • Sue Desmond-Hellmann, former CEO of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and former chancellor of the University of California, San Francisco
  • Terence Tao, Professor of Mathematics and the James and Carol Collins Chair in the College of Letters and Sciences at the University of California, Los Angeles
  • Vicki Sato, former chief science officer and president of Vertex Pharmaceuticals
  • William Dally, chief scientist and senior vice president for research at NVIDIA
  • William Press, the Leslie Surginer Professor of Computer Science and Integrative Biology at The University of Texas at Austin
ExecutiveGov Logo

Sign Up Now! Executive Gov provides you with Free Daily Updates and News Briefings about Government Technology