Hello, Guest!

Senate Confirms New FTC Chairman, Commissioners; Maureen Ohlhausen Comments

1 min read

The Senate has confirmed Joseph Simons, partner and co-chair of the antitrust group at law firm Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton and Garrison, as the new chairman of the Federal Trade Commission.

The FTC said Thursday the Senate has also selected Noah Phillips, Rebecca Slaughter, Rohit Chopra and Christine Wilson to serve as the agency’s commissioners.

“I congratulate Joe, as well as Noah, Rebecca and Rohit on their Senate confirmations,” acting FTC Chairman Maureen Ohlhausen said.

Ohlhausen said she will welcome the new commissioners once President Trump confirms their appointments.

Simons previously enforced antitrust rules at the FTC as its director of the bureau of competition for two years.

Under Simons, the bureau conducted more than 100 investigations and issued more non-merge enforcement actions than any previous year.

Phillips currently serves as the chief counsel to Sen. John Cornyn, R-Texas; Slaughter as chief counsel of Sen. Charles Schumer, D-N.Y.; Chopra as senior fellow at the Consumer Federation of America; and Wilson as senior vice president for regulatory and international affair at Delta Air Lines.

ExecutiveGov Logo

Sign Up Now! Executive Gov provides you with Free Daily Updates and News Briefings about Announcements

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.