Easy access to all the Government news updates

Subscribe and receive personalized news articles straight in your inbox

*By clicking "Join us now" you agree to receive emails, promotions and general messages from ExecutiveGov. In addition, you also agree to ExecutiveGov's Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions.


Pentagon Officials Select 2016 National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellows

1 min read

PentagonDefense Department officials have announced the fifteen university faculty scientists and engineers selected in the 2016 class of National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellows.

Among the list are members of National Academies, five winners of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers and a Nobel Prize laureate, DoD said Thursday.

“The program awards grants to top-tier researchers from U.S. universities to conduct long-term, unclassified, basic research of strategic importance to the Defense Department,” said Melissa Flagg, deputy assistant secretary of defense for research.

“These grants engage outstanding scientists and engineers in the most challenging technical issues facing the department.”

Members of the 2016 class of National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellows are:

  • Scott Aaronson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Quantum Algorithms
  • Oscar Bruno, California Institute of Technology, Applied Math/Electromagnetism
  • Marc De Graef, Carnegie Mellon University, Structural Materials
  • Steve Elgar, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Oceanography
  • Julia Greer, California Institute of Technology, Nano-architected Meta-materials
  • Ali Jadbabaie, University Of Pennsylvania, Applied Math/Network Science
  • Mark Kasevich, Stanford University, Quantum Sensing
  • Wolfgang Ketterle, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Quantum Emulation
  • Daniel Koditschek, University Of Pennsylvania, Applied Math/Robotics
  • Ying-Cheng Lai, Arizona State University, Applied Math/Quantum Nonlinear Dynamics
  • Jennifer Lewis, Harvard University, Manufacturing Science
  • Aude Oliva, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cognitive Neuroscience
  • Hongkun Park, Harvard University, Functional Materials
  • Susanne Stemmer, University of California Santa Barbara, Electronic Materials
  • Alan Willner, University of Southern California, Optics
ExecutiveGov Logo

Sign Up Now! Executive Gov provides you with Free Daily Updates and News Briefings about Technology

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.