Commerce Dept Appoints 17 Industry Leaders to Digital Economy Board of Advisers

3 mins read

Commerce-DepartmentThe Commerce Department has appointed 17 digital technology leaders to the board of advisers of the agency’s newly-formed digital economy agenda organization.

The department said Tuesday the appointees will work to provide private sector input and support to the agenda, which was created in efforts to facilitate free and open internet access for U.S. citizens.

Zoe Baird, Markle Foundation president and CEO, and Mitchell Baker, Mozilla executive chairwoman, were appointed as co-chairs of the advisory board.

“I am thrilled that such a knowledgeable and diverse group of thought leaders has volunteered to serve on our new Digital Economy Board of Advisors,” said Commerce Secretary Penny Pritzker.

Alan Davidson, DoC digital economy director, will work with the secretary and the National Telecommunications and Information Administration to apply the board’s recommendations.

Other board appointees include:

  •          Karen Bartleson, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers president-elect
  •          Greg Becker, Silicon Valley Bank and SVB Financial Group president and CEO
  •          James Cicconi, AT&T senior executive vice president of external and legislative affairs
  •          David L. Cohen, Comcast senior executive vice president and chief diversity officer
  •          Austan Goolsbee, Robert P. Gwinn professor of economics at the University of Chicago, Booth School of Business
  •          Mindy Grossman, HSN CEO and director
  •          Oisin Hanrahan, Handy co-Founder and CEO
  •          Sonia Katyal, Chancellor’s professor of law at the University of California at Berkeley School of Law
  •          James Manyika, McKinsey Global Institute director
  •          William Ruh, GE chief digital officer and GE Digital CEO
  •          Brad Smith, Microsoft president and chief legal officer
  •          Corey Thomas, Rapid7 president and CEO
  •          Marta Tellado, Consumer Reports president and CEO
  •          Susan Wojcicki, YouTube CEO
  •          John Zimmer, Lyft co-founder and president
ExecutiveGov Logo

Sign Up Now! Executive Gov provides you with Free Daily Updates and News Briefings about Government Technology

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.