Navy Releases 8 Standards for Contested Cyber Space; David Lewis Comments

1 min read

cybersecurityThe U.S. Navy has completed the first eight standards of a series the service branch intends to help regulate and sustain the service’s systems and programs in a contested cyber space.

The Information Technology/Information Assurance Technical Authority Board developed the cybersecurity standards in order to unify the security architecture framework for the Navy’s afloat, ashore, aviation and space systems, the Navy said Wednesday.

The Space and Naval Warfare Systems Command concluded the standards on host level protection, network firewall, intrusion detection systems, functional implementation architecture defense, security information and event management implementation, information security continuous monitoring, boundary protection and vulnerability scanning.

“Our intent in publishing these standards is for them to be included in design requirements, development and production contracts, and any other technical or engineering artifacts that touch on or influence cybersecurity designs for our various computer-based systems,” said Rear Adm. David Lewis, SPAWAR commander.

The Navy plans to implement the standards in its business systems, command and control, combat systems, weapons, navigation, machinery control, mechanical and electrical systems and propulsion.

ExecutiveGov Logo

Sign Up Now! Executive Gov provides you with Free Daily Updates and News Briefings about Government Technology

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Become a Registered Reader
Register to enjoy unlimited access to articles, interviews, and invaluable govcon content. You'll also receive our daily briefing straight to your inbox.

This will close in 0 seconds