Easy access to all the Government news updates

Subscribe and receive personalized news articles straight in your inbox

*By clicking "Join us now" you agree to receive emails, promotions and general messages from ExecutiveGov. In addition, you also agree to ExecutiveGov's Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions.


NIST’s Herbert Bennett, Michael Gaitan Help Shape Latest IEEE Microsensors Standard

1 min read

electronics motherboard microchip_EBizTwo officials from the National Institute of Standards and Technology took part in the formulation of the latest guidance on sensors to earn approval from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Standards Association, NIST said Monday.

The IEEE 2700-2014 development team included NIST Fellow and Executive Advisor Dr. Herbert S. Bennett and Dr. Michael Gaitan of the Physical Measurement Laboratory at NIST, as well as representatives from industry, including the MEMS Industry Group and IEEE Electron Devices Society.

The IEEE 2700-2014 sets out a common framework on what terminology, units, conditions and limits to use in the development of MEMS sensors.

The new standard encompasses accelerometers, ambient light sensors, barometer/pressure sensors, gyrometer/gyroscopes, hygrometer/humidity sensors, magnetometers, proximity sensors and temperature sensors, according to the IEEE SA website.

ExecutiveGov Logo

Sign Up Now! Executive Gov provides you with Free Daily Updates and News Briefings about Government Technology

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.