NASA Names New Flight Directors for International Space Station

1 min read
Greg Whitney, Tomas Gonzalez-Torres and Judd Frieling. Photo: NASA

NASA has selected three new flight directors to manage International Space Station operations, the agency announced Monday.

Judd Frieling, Tomas Gonzalez-Torres and Greg Whitney will join human spaceflight leaders at the Johnson Space Center in Houston.

Frieling was previously a data processing systems officer, supporting 20 shuttle flights and working as lead DPS officer for two shuttle missions.

Gonzalez-Torres worked as an extravehicular activities officer for 17 shuttle flights and was lead EVA officer on one shuttle mission. He was also lead spacewalk officer for the final Hubble Space Telescope servicing mission and one shuttle flight.

Whitney supported 14 space station expeditions and 12 space shuttle missions as a flight activities officer and was lead FAO for the final shuttle flight.

“As we move into a new era of spaceflight, these flight directors will help us transition the knowledge and experience from the existing human spaceflight programs into the next period of exploration and space station operations,” said John McCullough, head of the flight director office at the Johnson Space Center. “This includes development of new technologies and techniques for spaceflight and development and execution of our future missions in the years to come.”

ExecutiveGov Logo

Sign Up Now! Executive Gov provides you with Free Daily Updates and News Briefings about Civilian

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.